Being Mrs. Pierce

Life as a wife, hiker, wanna-be chef, book-lover, traveler, and now, mom

Apple and Cabbage Slaw (New Recipe #5) January 15, 2013

Filed under: Cooking — skpierce12 @ 7:53 PM

001 003

Around our house, Saturdays are slow-cooker days. (They are also catch-up-on-everything-we-didn’t-get-done-during-the-week days, so we are often at home.) I like to make up a big batch of something that will get us through the early part of the work week, and the slow cooker is a handy cooking device for that end. Last Saturday I made a delicious slow-cooker Pulled Pork Recipe that my friend DM shared with me last summer. To go along with our pulled pork sandwiches, I tried my fifth new recipe of the year, Apple and Cabbage Slaw from Weight Watchers. I made it an hour or so before we ate to give it time to chill in the refrigerator.

Upon first bite, I made my “sour face” thanks to the vinegar, which was rather overpowering in both taste and smell. But it also had a nice crunch and a tart-yet-sweet thing going on, so I ate my full serving, although it only earned 2 out of 5 stars from John and 2-and-a-half stars from me. The next night we ate the leftovers, and the slaw had improved with time. The vinegar taste was not nearly as strong. And for a colorful twist, the red cabbage had turned the apple slices a pretty shade of violet.

Apple and Cabbage Slaw

1 TB cider vinegar (I recommend using less!)
1 TB maple syrup
2 tsp. olive oil
¼ tsp. salt
1/8 tsp. freshly ground black pepper
2 cups thinly sliced red cabbage
1 large Granny Smith apple, cored and thinly sliced
1 green onion, thinly sliced

1. Combine first 5 ingredients in a large bowl, stirring well with a whisk. Add cabbage and remaining ingredients to bowl; toss gently to coat.

Yield: 4 servings (serving size: about 1 cup). Per serving, 2 PointsPlus.

 

3 Responses to “Apple and Cabbage Slaw (New Recipe #5)”

  1. Kalyn Says:

    Vinegar in recipes always intimidates me. I usually end up cutting it in half. Store bought cole slaw dressing are actually usually not horrible. I wonder if it would be good to do the cabbage, apples, and green onions with a light cole slaw dressing.

  2. eea142 Says:

    If you add some sugar that will cut down on the bite of the vinegar. (It will make the recipe less healthy, which is probably why it’s not in there in the first place lol)

    I’m guessing the apples released some of their sugar over night which is why it was more mild the second day


Leave a Reply

