Being Mrs. Pierce

Life as a wife, hiker, wanna-be chef, book-lover, traveler, and now, mom-to-be

Cheese and Tomato Omelet (New Recipe #4) January 12, 2013

Filed under: Cooking — skpierce12 @ 5:51 PM

Take 1

By 3 o’clock on Fridays, I am exhausted. I load up my cart, turn the lights off in my classroom, and head for home as quick as I can. While I love my 4th grade students, they wear. me. out. So Friday night dinners are usually spent out in a restaurant or picked up on the way home from work. Last night, however, John and I decided to eat at home. Between our tight post-Christmas budget and my continuing efforts to lose my post-wedding poundage, staying home for dinner was the best choice. As I have already mentioned, however, my energy level hovers around 0 on Friday night, so I wanted something quick and easy to cook. I selected the Cheese and Tomato Omelet recipe from Weight Watchers for those reasons.

The omelet started out great–I had chopped and grated the ingredients ahead of time so all would run smoothly atop the stove–but suddenly an alarming amount of smoke started spiraling up from the skillet. The tell-tale burn smell quickly followed. I had scorched the omelet. Being too tired to try it again (see above), I decided to instead enlist the Pioneer Woman’s Salsa to help me mask the burned flavor. An array of fresh chopped cilantro also helped disguise the blackish appearance.

002

John and I ate the omelet. Yes, it was a little crunchy at times, but on the whole, it wasn’t as bad as I had feared. I knew I could do better, however, so that leads me to…

Take 2

I decided to give the omelet recipe another try at lunch today. I had all the ingredients, and I was motivated to get it right this time. Again, I had eveything ready and waiting before I turned on the stove. I pushed the heat down a couple of notches from last night’s setting. I also used a 12″ skillet instead of the 9″ I used last night; I thought that perhaps the omelet would cook through quicker if it was spread more thin. I was right on that last point, but the thinness of the omelet also meant it was more fragile. When I went to fold it in half, it broke apart. I had trouble getting the top half fully over the bottom half, so the diced tomato kept sliding out. Tastewise, however, it was much improved. John and I both gave the non-burned version 4 out of 5 stars.

002

Cheese and Tomato Omelet

2 large eggs
2 large egg whites
2 TB water
1 TB finely chopped fresh cilantro
¼ tsp salt
1/8 tsp coarsely ground black pepper
Cooking spray
¼ cup (1 oz) reduced-fat shredded cheddar cheese
½ cup diced seeded tomato (1 small)
Fresh chopped cilantro (optional)
Additional diced seeded tomato (optional)

1. Combine first 6 ingredients in a medium bowl, stirring with a whisk until blended.

2. Heat an 8-inch nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Coat pan with cooking spray. Add egg mixture, and cook until edges begin to set. Gently lift edges of egg mixture with a wide spatula, tilting pan to allow uncooked egg mixture to come in contact with pan. Cook 2 minutes or until egg mixture is almost set; sprinkle with cheese. Spoon tomato over half of omelet; loosen omelet with a spatula, and fold in half. Cook 2 minutes or until center is set and cheese melts.

3. Slide omelet onto a plate; cut in half. Garnish with cilantro and additional diced seeded tomato, if desired, and serve immediately.

Yield: 2 servings (serving size: ½ omelet). Per serving, 4 PointsPlus.

 

3 Responses to “Cheese and Tomato Omelet (New Recipe #4)”

  1. Kalyn Gensic Says:

    This looks good! We may have to give it a try.

  2. Loveta Says:

    I laughed at “Take 1 and Take 2”.

    We love omelets, This looks delicious, we try it.

  3. […] & Breads Cheese and Tomato Omelet Turkey Breakfast Sausage Baked Peach Pancake Apple-Raisin Baked Oatmeal* Oatmeal Chocolate Chip […]


Leave a Reply

