Being Mrs. Pierce

Life as a wife, hiker, wanna-be chef, book-lover, traveler, and now, mom

Italian Wedding Soup (New Recipe #3) January 7, 2013

Filed under: Cooking — skpierce12 @ 8:52 PM

002

I am in the midst of reading Dearie: The Remarkable Life of Julia Child by Bob Spitz. It’s been a fascinating biography. I knew little of Julia Child prior to starting the book; I’ve never seen an episode of The French Chef (although looking for clips on YouTube is now on my to-do list). I’ve been chuckling at her reactions to the arrival of pre-packaged, processed food in American supermarkets in the 1950s and the “quick and easy” recipes of the era (one notable recipe featured Spam and Vienna sausages while daring to use the word “Roast” in its title), all the while thinking of my own pantry and the recipe shortcuts I frequently use. I comfort myself with the ol’ “I work full-time” defense, but there is something to be said for Julia’s standards, even in the fast-paced 21st century. She took the time to do something the right way; she savored, she reveled in food – and life.

Here would be the perfect opportunity to share a from-scratch recipe that I attempted in Julia Child-fashion, but sadly, I cannot. Tonight I made an Italian Wedding Soup recipe that was recommended to me by my sweet mother-in-law, Loveta. It was a Weight Watchers recipe, and contained vegetables from a can. My apologies, Julia. (The recipe was tasty, though. I gave it 4 out of 5 stars; John ranked it a little lower at 3-and-a-half.)

Italian Wedding Soup

1½ cups fat-free, lower-sodium beef broth
1 cup water
½ cup uncooked orzo
Cooking spray
9 oz mild turkey Italian sausage
1 (14.5-oz) can petite-cut diced tomatoes with garlic and olive oil, undrained
¼ tsp freshly ground black pepper
1 (6-oz) package fresh baby spinach
¼ cup (1 oz) shaved fresh Parmesan cheese

1. Combine broth and water in a Dutch oven; cover and bring to a boil. Add orzo. Cook, uncovered, 6 to 8 minutes or until orzo is tender; do not drain.

2. While broth mixture comes to a boil, heat a large nonstick skillet over medium heat. Coat pan with cooking spray.

3. While skillet heats, remove casings from sausage, and quickly shape into 24 (1-inch) balls. (I am slow, so I did this before I got the broth to boiling. Also, my meatballs were smaller than 1-inch.) Add meatballs to pan. Cook 6 minutes, browning on all sides. Drain well.

4. Add meatballs, tomatoes, and pepper to pasta mixture; return to a boil. Add spinach; cook 30 seconds, stirring until spinach wilts. Ladle soup evenly into 4 bowls. Top evenly with cheese.

Yield: 4 servings (serving size: 1½ cups soup and 1 TB cheese). Per serving, 5 PointsPlus.

 

4 Responses to “Italian Wedding Soup (New Recipe #3)”

  1. Doniamarie Says:

    It’s definitely harder to make from-scratch recipes, especially during the week. If you like tomato soup, go to my blog for a link to a new, yummy recipe I like – http://www.itsallabouthasteningslowly.blogspot.com/2013/01/homemade-tomato-soup.html. It adds time to roast your own tomatoes, peppers, and onions, but it tastes great. I’d say to only attempt it on the weekend and make a lot of it to freeze for later meals. And beware exploding blenders. I must really invest in an immersion hand blender!

    • skpierce12 Says:

      Thanks for the tomato soup recipe! It’s been added to my cooking wish list. Does it still turn out good with out-of-season tomatoes from the supermarket? I keep thinking of the disappointing homemade pico de gallo from Christmas Eve. The tomatoes were just awful.

      I hope your wrist is okay. That’s quite a story. Remember when we were browning ground beef on the stove back in college and it exploded??

      • Doniamarie Says:

        Ha! I’d almost forgotten about the exploding ground beef! It seems something is bound to explode every 10-12 years!

        I’ve never made the tomato soup when the tomatoes were in season and the soup is great. Probably because the veggies are roasted beforehand. Just be sure to take some liberties with the spices – throw in whatever sounds good!

  2. […] & Sandwiches Corn and Bacon Chowder* Creamy Tomato Soup* Italian Wedding Soup Pressed Pear Turkey […]


Leave a Reply

