Being Mrs. Pierce

Life as a wife, hiker, wanna-be chef, book-lover, traveler, and now, mom-to-be

Edamame and Steak Stir-Fry (New Recipe #2) January 7, 2013

Filed under: Cooking — skpierce12 @ 1:48 AM

003 004

Tonight is the last night of our Winter Break, so I decided to take a break from grading essays (which should have been graded 2 weeks ago) in order to do something I truly enjoy – cooking. The Edamame and Steak Stir-Fry recipe was an easy pick: it has beef, which my husband loves, it has edamame, which is one of my newest favorite ingredients, and it gave me an excuse to use our wok, which is the coolest kitchen pan we own. It was quick to make, with only 7 ingredients, and it turned out delicious – a solid 4-star recipe. It only makes two servings, though, so I recommend doubling the recipe if you have a hearty eater in your midst. We ate it with plain brown rice to round out the meal.

Now I suppose I had better get back to those essays…

Edamame and Steak Stir-Fry

Cooking spray
8 oz boneless sirloin steak, trimmed and cut into thin strips
1 cup frozen shelled edamame
3 TB water
1 (5-oz) package prechopped tricolor bell pepper mix (I chopped up about 2/3 cup of green and red bell pepper)
1 tsp minced garlic
3 TB teriyaki basting sauce

1. Heat a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Coat pan with cooking spray. Add steak strips; stir-fry 5 minutes or until steak is done. Transfer to a plate.

2. Add edamame and 3 TB water to pan; stir-fry 2 minutes or until thoroughly heated. Add bell pepper mix; stir-fry 2 to 3 minutes. Add garlic; stir-fry 1 minute. Stir in basting sauce; cook, stirring constantly, 1 minute or until thoroughly heated. Return steak to mixture in pan; toss to coat.

Yield: 2 servings (serving size: 1½ cups). Per serving, 8 PointsPlus.

 

7 Responses to “Edamame and Steak Stir-Fry (New Recipe #2)”

  1. Mr. Pierce Says:

    This meal really was delicious. And the wok is the coolest of pans.

  2. Loveta Says:

    I want a wok. I have always wanted one, but before I would get one I would hear a “negative” about them and then would decide that it would just be in my way. Bill Potter uses a wok to make a delicious squash dish.

    I am so going to enjoy you having this blog, I am so glad you are doing this.

    • skpierce12 Says:

      The only negative about woks, in my opinion, is their size. They take up a lot of room! It would be nice to have somewhere to hang pots and pans instead of having to store them in cabinets, the pantry, in their original boxes in the closet…

  3. […] Watchers recipe earned a 3-out-of-5 star rating.  I did not think it quite matched up to the Steak and Edamame Stir-Fry  from earlier this […]

  4. […] this year. (I would rank them first, but John cannot decide whether the Meat Cupcakes recipe or the Edamame and Steak Stir-Fry is his […]

  5. […] the entrée was not as good as some of the other Asian dishes I’ve recently made, such as the Edamame and Steak Stir-Fry or the Szechuan Chicken with Noodles, but with a little tweaking it could be a solid […]

  6. […] Dishes Edamame and Steak Stir-Fry General Tso’s Chicken Szechuan Chicken with Noodles Thai Shrimp Curry Thai Chicken Stir-Fry […]


Leave a Reply

