Being Mrs. Pierce

Life as a wife, hiker, wanna-be chef, book-lover, traveler, and now, mom-to-be

Penne with Shrimp and Mint (New Recipe #1) January 3, 2013

Filed under: Cooking — skpierce12 @ 3:08 PM

006 002

On a recent visit to my in-laws in Menard, I spent hours looking through Loveta’s Weight Watchers magazines and typing up interesting-looking recipes. I find it challenging, yet fun, to find recipes that meet multiple requirements: being Weight-Watcher friendly for me, being relatively easy to cook, and being appetizing (and tasty) enough for John, who most definitely is NOT on Weight Watchers.

In the midst of my recent recipe-hunting bonanza, John challenged me to set a goal of cooking at least 40 new recipes this year. I thought it sounded like fun, and I wasted no time in getting started. Last night was my first attempt. I made Penne with Shrimp and Mint, one of the new Weight Watcher recipes I typed up in Menard. John was a little skeptical about the shrimp, but he was willing to give it a try. It was simple enough to make – see the recipe below. The result? Even I, who am sodium-phobic, could admit that it needed salt, but otherwise it was good. John gave it 3-and-a-half stars, I gave it a solid 3. My vote probably would have been higher had the mint been replaced with basil.

Penne with Shrimp and Mint

1/2 lb whole-wheat penne
1 (16-oz) bag frozen shelled uncooked medium-large shrimp
2 tsp olive oil
1 onion, diced
2 garlic cloves, chopped (I would recommend using at least 3 cloves)
2 TB tomato paste
pinch red pepper flakes
1 (14.5-oz) can petite-diced tomatoes
1/4 cup sliced fresh mint

Bring large pot of water to boil. Add pasta and cook according to package directions. Drain pasta.

Meanwhile, thaw shrimp according to package directions.

Heat oil in a large, nonstick skillet over medium heat. Add onion and cook, stirring, until tender, 6 minutes. Add garlic, tomato paste, and red pepper flakes; cook, stirring, 2 minutes. Add shrimnp and tomatoes; bring to a boil. Reduce heat and cook, stirring, until shrimp are just opaque in center, 5 minutes. Stir in pasta and mint.

Yield: 6 servings (serving size: 1 1/3 cups). Per serving, 6 PointsPlus.

 

One Response to “Penne with Shrimp and Mint (New Recipe #1)”

  1. […] last spring, I lost my cooking mojo. In the weeks and months after launching my blog, I spent hours happily looking for new recipes, making frequent grocery store trips, and whipping […]


Leave a Reply

